Hey, There’s a Bird in This Mirror!

Diversion Enthusiast Society, est. 2007

Dave’s a Person You Don’t Know, Too

with 3 comments

Well, kind of – somewhat to my relief, it wasn’t the full-on interview treatment that Raina got, so I didn’t talk have to talk about myself much.  Instead, I participated as a guest on a Spotcast episode of Euge’s People You Don’t Know site, in which he talks with someone about a particular topic.  In this case, we talked about U2.  I’ve been told it’s interesting and that I’m speaking in “my nervous voice.”  I’m not sure what that means.

Give it a listen here.

Written by Dave

March 13, 2009 at 1:36 pm

Posted in Dave, Friends, Meta, Music

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I got a scintilliting taste of Dave’s erudite wit that was mysteriously pre-empted by Bono’s Irish minstrelsy.

    I seethe, unfulfilled.

    Chavez

    March 21, 2009 at 12:48 am

  2. I seethe no longer, the fault was my own.

    At first listen, I am unimpressed – the interviewer seems to press you on issues without knowing the answers myself, and that’s where I think the “nervous voice” shows up; neither of you are on particularly solid footing, but as the podcast goes on, you both gain some traction and momentum. I’m going backwards here but overall I find it interesting to ME because I think Dave is a pretty interesting guy, dunno how much general interest there might be out there.

    Chavez

    March 21, 2009 at 1:03 am

  3. Nice!

    The interview really hit its stride when you guys were able to strike that delicate balance between the geekout and the “academic” banter.

    For some strange reason, I had a major aversion to U2 for most of my young life. I hated them with some sort of blind rage and, to this day, I could not tell you why.

    However, I spent a semester abroad in Buenos Aires during my undergrad and Bs.As. is chock full of two thing: beautiful people and U2 cover bands (seriously). Somehow, I was at an Irish/maritime themed bar called “The Kilkenny,” and it was just one of those nights where you’re wasted and nothing is going quite right and suddenly you turn around and all the people you came with are gone, and there you are, alone, with a full beer, and nothing to do.

    It was then, while sulking over my pint of Quilmes or Iguana or something similarly awful, that the U2 cover band took the stage and opened with, of all damn songs, “Stuck In A Moment That You Can’t Get Out Of” (I know, right?!?). I, sure enough, I damn near start to cry. And, in my drunken haze, I decided U2 is pretty alright. And, now here I am, pretty big fan.

    I even like “Sexy Boots.” (Ha!)

    Anyway, that’s my U2 story.

    Again, nice interview – and props to the Ekko Galaxie namedrop!

    Tony

    March 23, 2009 at 4:02 pm


Leave a Reply

