Hey, There’s a Bird in This Mirror!

Diversion Enthusiast Society, est. 2007

Ooo… shiny…

with 2 comments

We – er, I – interrupt your regularly scheduled Music Marathon to acknowledge that we’ve adopted a new design theme. Because I’m deeply mellow from my Women’s Yoga class today,* have had two glasses of Sustainable Red and a beautiful homemade tomato soup for dinner, I am inclined to share.  Here’s why:

1. We hated the font associated with our old theme. Tiny and serify. Hated.

2. Until I just ran a search on the subject, I was laboring under the misapprehension that black web pages were more energy-efficient. Let’s just pretend they are and that MetaFilter peddles lies.

3. Even though I spent about $1900 and 8% of the credits I took for my MLIS learning how to do so, I’m too cheap/lazy to buy the WordPress CSS upgrade and muck around with the stylesheet for our page. Maybe. Eventually. When the wine’s gone. Later.

4. Speaking of my MLIS**, the layout of this theme appealed to the part of me that worries (worries!) about the intuitiveness of the OPAC of the library where I work. Look at how apparent the post titles are! Look at how the categories, tags, and comments each get their own line! Look at how color is used to discreetly draw the user’s eye to hyperlinked text!

We’re listening to the I’m Not There soundtrack. I’m something of a floor person when I’m drinking wine, so I’m going to go lie there now. I’m good, by the way. I’ll write something soon, as soon as E is done with the Burnt Sienna crayon.*** In the meantime, here’s a picture of me humiliating myself by playing Rock Band on New Year’s Eve while the best drummer I’ve ever met watches. Enjoy!

Shame!

Shame!

* – Combine the vibe of an episode of Oprah with a slumber party and you’ve pretty much got it. I don’t think I’ve ever spent so much time thinking about bloodflow to my pelvic region before.

** – Still in the manila envelope in which it was mailed.

*** – It’s not nice to make inside jokes in front of others.

Written by Raina

January 10, 2009 at 9:19 pm

Posted in Meta, Raina

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is about to become very ironic. You’ll see.

    Lyndon

    January 11, 2009 at 12:11 am

  2. Hey, There’s a Geek in This Prospectus?

    Raina

    January 11, 2009 at 12:36 pm


Leave a Reply

