Hey, There’s a Bird in This Mirror!

Diversion Enthusiast Society, est. 2007

The First of Many 29th Birthdays

with 3 comments

Hi.

It’s my birthday.

I received some very nice gifts this morning (Grace on vinyl) and went out for a fantastic dinner tonight (have the chickpea fries with carrot harissa – you won’t regret it). And and and I had my husband all to myself today. We went on a picnic in Veterans’ Park, which is massive and stretches along Lake Michigan just east of downtown Milwaukee –

The above might better explain why we live here than those snowstorm photographs I posted a few months back.

The universe wanted to wish me a happy birthday, too. In fact, it even sent me a little present a half an hour after we spread out our blanket and dug into the fancy cheese –

Yes! Segway Tours of Milwaukee! Take in the sights, fail to burn even one tiny calorie, and look like a jackass all at the same time! America truly is an amazing place! The guy leading the charge is a tour guide!

Fairly certain that I was making the Segway people uncomfortable, I employed a little misdirection –

They were getting away! Very! Slowly! But it didn’t matter. We had seen them, captured them on film, and it was – what’s the word?

Oh, yeah. Thanks, Dave. It was awesome.

Written by Raina

June 17, 2008 at 8:53 pm

Posted in Milwaukee, Misc.

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 29? Daaaaaaamn, you old! I’m a spry 26. How does it feel to look back at the best years of your life? I want to be prepared for when it happens.

    Looks like a great day for you two. Happy belated!

    Lyndon

    June 18, 2008 at 10:06 am

  2. Between you and my “best friend,” who sends me an email every year on my birthday pointing out that, for a month, I am two years older than him, I’ve had just about enough birthday abuse for one year. Durn whippersnappers. 🙂

    Anyway, Dave’s 34. He’s on age recon for me, letting me know if it’s all clear. So far, he still has most of his hair, all of his teeth, and a sunny outlook on life. Based on this, I figure that I’m safe until at least 34.

    Raina

    June 18, 2008 at 12:38 pm

  3. i just woke mal up laughing at this. 😀

    oooo i loves me the internet. i was late for work today. i’m an internet ADDICT.

    i will get it out of my system… new computer and all.

    blythe

    August 21, 2008 at 12:08 am


Leave a Reply

