Hey, There’s a Bird in This Mirror!

Diversion Enthusiast Society, est. 2007

We deeply regret the error.

with one comment

Last week, I said:

Matter of fact, I love the drunk, excited frat boys at Hold Steady shows. They complete the experience.

I TAKE IT BACK.

I want the drunk, excited frat boys at Hold Steady shows to take a deep breath, calm down, and stop spilling their $3 tallboys down the back of the petite, irritable librarian standing in front of them. I stayed away from the space in front of the stage! I’m not naive! I know what happens up there! Why were these fellows fifty feet back in the room? Did they get lost on their way back from the bathroom? Were they conducting some sort of frat boy recon mission, bravely questing for new people to spill beer on and stab in the back of the head during Rhythmic Pointing Time?

However, it would be nice if we could rid ourselves of the above while somehow retaining the moment on Friday when one of these ex-frat boys (about thirty; dressed like he was planning on mowing the lawn after the show; the one who would be spilling his beer on me later, no doubt) looked around the room, elbowed his friend, and said, totally without irony and within earshot – “There are a lot of ‘bags at this show.”

As the acquaintance standing next to me said, “YES. YES THERE ARE.”

Written by Raina

April 14, 2008 at 11:12 am

Posted in Milwaukee, Misc., Music

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Said ‘bags also thought it would be a good idea to sing along with the studio version of every song, despite the fact that Craig Finn changes his phrasing drastically in concert. I get the singing along thing. Really, I do. I tend to abstain, personally, unless the artist seems to really want it (hey, Ben Folds even arranges his audience’s vocal parts sometimes), but I get it. But is it really singing “along” if you’re tunelessly* shouting out lyrics a beat before the guy on stage does?

    * Yeah, I realize Finn doesn’t have the most melodic set of pipes, but he still sounds better than you.

    Dave

    April 16, 2008 at 4:33 pm


Leave a Reply

