Hey, There’s a Bird in This Mirror!

Diversion Enthusiast Society, est. 2007

In which a theme that will become increasingly apparent is introduced.

with 3 comments

I’m a 28-year-old, underemployed librarian.

I spend all of my time at home, waiting to be contacted about the various resumes and cover letters I’ve sent out, doing odd jobs for a very benevolent former professor of mine.

I watch a lot of cooking shows, drink a lot of tea, listen to a lot of NPR, and spend a lot of time fighting with people about politics on the internet.

This morning, at 11:30 a.m., I was sitting here in my pajamas*, trying to convince myself that I’m not an enormous failure, when my upstairs neighbor starting blasting “Kung-Fu Fighting.”

Kung. Fu. Fighting. Followed by “Africa.”

I promptly abandoned my chair, took a shower, got dressed, and decided I have to leave the house, to go somewhere, anywhere, as, given the introduction of absurd 80’s pop kitsch, I assume I’m probably about an hour away from making a comically long phone call to a phone psychic and trying to live on a gas station credit card. Buying Ethan Hawke’s unbelievable line of bullshit couldn’t be that far behind.

 

* Yeah, you read that right. Wanna make something of it?

Written by Raina

March 13, 2008 at 11:42 am

Posted in Misc.

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am always in my pajamas when I’m at home. 11:30 is nothing.

    Euge

    March 13, 2008 at 1:21 pm

  2. Not sure if it’ll help you or not but when I was unemployed or between contracts I used to start my day with a walk. It accomplished three things:

    1) It made me get showered and/or dressed.

    2) It helped me think. Whether it was putting together a plan to job search or simply talking myself out of the funk I was spiraling towards a walk always helped.

    3) Exercise helps keep the blues aways.

    There were mornings when it damn near killed me (-40 is not my friend) but it helped a great deal.

    Good luck!

    Ryan S~

    March 14, 2008 at 3:26 pm

  3. I just re-watched Reality Bites this weekend (a little nostalgic for Houston). It really does seem to capture that post graduate feeling.

    Also, Ryan speaks the truth.

    HBarr

    April 15, 2008 at 10:12 am


Leave a Reply

