Hey, There’s a Bird in This Mirror!

Diversion Enthusiast Society, est. 2007

“You will always have the last word…”

with 2 comments

I’ve been thinking about it.

Echo and Narcissus by Waterhouse

If we press on the name of this blog a little bit more, there’s an almost immediate and impossible-to-avoid implication of narcissism. We may be amused and entertained, but, really, when we make the decision to write about what catches our attention, it’s our fascination with our own amusement and entertainment that compels us to do so. I’ve been writing since I was 12 and I’ve come up against this idea again and again and it has really never stopped bothering me. It has never stopped me, either, but that doesn’t mean I don’t feel that little twinge every time I announce another reading, post something on MySpace, or give a talk on my academic work.

Because I approach everything that I do with the librarian’s impulse to construct a crispy little nest out of books and journal articles written about my new pet amusement, I have spent the past few days finding out about blogging. Two things, in particular, caught my attention:

  • Peter Krapp’s “Top Ten Reasons I Don’t Blog Anymore.” I am precisely the sort of person who would find something like this within ten days of launching a blog. I don’t want to get into a detailed analysis of Dr. Krapp’s post here, save to say that, while I did a lot of nodding while reading it, I think that there are ways to work around/with his valid concerns. I don’t think his argument is going to stop me, but I’m certainly going to think about what he wrote.
  • Geert Lovink’s Zero Comments: Blogging and Critical Internet Culture.* I’m only just through chapter 1, but it’s extremely interesting stuff. I’ll post more on it as I go along. In the meantime, for those who are interested in critical thinking about the internet, please visit the website of The Institute for Network Cultures, with which Lovink is affiliated.

I feel as if I should make some sort of original comment or remark right here, but I don’t have one on hand. I’ll keep reading. Be back later.

 

* – You will note that this link does not lead to Amazon. Reader, meet WorldCat, the union catalog to end all union catalogs. WorldCat, Reader. It is not a perfect nor exhaustive beast, but it’s a far sight more helpful than linking to a for-profit, non-local source.

Written by Raina

November 29, 2007 at 2:05 pm

Posted in Meta

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There’s something dubious about an academic who’s apparently been an avid blogger for at least three years suddenly deciding that there’s something intellectually unsavory about blogging. He’s probably just annoyed that his wife’s blog gets more hits than his.

    That bit of snark aside, snark, speed, and sloppy writing aren’t required for blogging. In fact, as there aren’t deadlines in blogging, there’s arguably quite a bit more room for well-wrought prose in blogging than there is in newswriting at a daily, as long as you exercise some restraint.

    Dave

    November 29, 2007 at 4:24 pm

  2. “That bit of snark aside, snark, speed, and sloppy writing aren’t required for blogging. In fact, as there aren’t deadlines in blogging, there’s arguably quite a bit more room for well-wrought prose in blogging than there is in newswriting at a daily, as long as you exercise some restraint.”

    Oh, agreed, but there also aren’t editors in blogging, so snark, speed, and sloppy writing are probably more commonplace than one would hope.

    Raina

    November 29, 2007 at 6:37 pm


Leave a Reply

